Clear all

BH for Dialogue editing?

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Customer
Topic starter

Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to BH and just finished my firsts Fx editing projects and loved it. 

I was wondering what uses you give to it when editing dialogue.

Just looking for the missing tips and tricks that make our life easier. 😛  

Thanks! 

3 Replies
Admin

BaseHead is best used as a database for effects to find sounds you need even locate new sounds from online libraries that you don't have and get them into your project in the least amount of steps as possible. 

TIP: If you are talking ADR/Dialog tracks you want to manage for a specific project, typically this isn't material you really want in your database to be indexed, but rather as a "temporary" thing. This is where you can use the "Collections" node in the PeekTree to create "folders" which you can just drag your dialog files into without being part of any database, but you can then use all the features of BaseHead to process the files, trim and send to your DAW. Then once you are finished just delete the collection if it isn't needed. 

If you need any further tips, just let us know more what angle you are thinking.

Jian
Customer

I usually create a new database for a project and import the production sound. The i-XML metadata lets me quickly found the take I want. I will monitor the individual track then spot just a selection. This is great since the production recordings usually have more than 8 tracks. You definitely don't want to import the whole file into your DAW. 

Customer
Topic starter

Yes! My first impression was also to use BH to find and sync replacement takes for non usable dialogue. Even when metadata has been truncated on OMF/AAF creation, this will help save time going through production sound spreadsheets (I have used other software for this in the past, indeed much better to be able to extract just the needed portion and channel, faster editing, , space saver, etc.).