Am I too stupid or ...

Notifications
Clear all

Am I too stupid or is is it not possible?

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Customer
Topic starter

Hey guys, I don't know if I'm just too stupid to use this software or if it's a feature, not a bug..

In the standard version of BH, is it normal that you cannot add and edit metadata fields in the details page? Is this limited to the ultra version? In other words: can I add metadata like location, used equipment, keywords, etc to imported wav-files or can I only edit metadata that is already written in the file before? Also, sometimes, I see the gear icon in the details page, but mostly, it's gone and I cannot add metadata fields at all.

Here's the background: While being stuck at home (Corona), I tried to do something that I've never done but desperately wanted to do: I am a sound composer and I have tons of fieldrecordings that are terribly organized in a folder structure like year-date-location-content and I always wanted to have a database with custom search fields, regardless of the actual folder structure, so I could search vor specific locations, used equipment, dates or content details. After a long search for a software that can do this I found basehead. So now I have the standard version but I'm completely unable to do anything that goes beyond what I can also do without BH, say rename or reorder the files (roughly 200GB).

Is it me not getting how the software works or is it just impossible what I want to do?

Any help on this is greatly appreciated!

All the best and stay healthy!

Dan

7 Replies
Admin

If you are running the latest version of BaseHead then you should be able to edit metadata within the DETAILS panel as this functionality was just recently added into the standard version. May help to flick through the manual to get a sense of how things work: 

https://baseheadinc.com/index.php/knowledge-base/details-panel-metadata/